hot wheels

The past week and a half/two weeks have been fairly warm here in Des Moines (and a lot of the rest of the US) but I’ve been riding through it all. On Saturday, Andy and I biked “our loop” and stopped at the Farmer’s Market. On our way there, I surpassed 1000 miles on the hybrid so far this year. Filled the Jandd Grocery Bags (Thanks, Beaverdale Bicycles!) to the brim with produce from the market and it worked out well.

On my Friday morning commute, I had an encounter with an uneducated driver (he shouted from his window for me to get on the sidewalk) and then went over some rough road getting closer to the side so he could pass me. A very short while later, I was pulled over on the trail with a back tire flat. Luckily, I had my spare, tools and a pump. In addition, I’ve gained confidence in my mechanical abilities when it comes to small repairs. (Thanks again, Beaverdale Bicycles!) I was up and running and off to work with just a short delay. I did struggle with my hand pump a little bit but kept working at it and was able to get air where it was supposed to go.

My picture this week was taken on the day I had to do my roadside repairs…

Crayon + Hot Asphalt = Melty

This week looks like perfect weather for biking and for celebrating my birthday!!

 

About dsmcyclist

For as long as I can remember, I've always enjoyed zipping around on two wheels. I'm a casual rider - I commute by bicycle when I can, I love hitting the trails with friends, I try to roll most of my errands. I'm learning more about Des Moines' trail and cycling culture - and now I'm sharing that with you! View all posts by dsmcyclist

Leave a comment